Petticoat Junction Railroad in Panama City Beach, FL

Railroads not found at Disney parks
unclemymy
Passenger

Petticoat Junction Railroad in Panama City Beach, FL

Post by unclemymy »

I saw a number of posts from 2005 concerning the Petticoat Junction Railroad. I was an engineer on the railroad, fulltime for many seasons, with at least some scheduled runs in each of 9 seasons. I visited the later owner, Fred Hallmark, at his home in Warrior, Alabama, before any of the locomotives had been restored. Some Hallmark fellow, maybe his son, even posted to the board in 2005. I'd really like to hear from anyone about these trains, and especially pictures by Wilbur Golson or any other pictures that may have been taken from 1975 til the train's last run in 1984.

If you got to ride in the cab, or run the engine during that time, chances are I was the guy that brought you up there.

Looking forward to hearing from you folks.
p51
Brakeman

Re: Petticoat Junction Railroad in Panama City Beach, FL

Post by p51 »

What kills me is that I grew up in Tallahassee (born in 1969), not that far away from PC. We knew that the operation was there, but none of us realized they had steam running. Nobody in my family ever saw any TV commercials about the place or heard from anyone who had ever visited the place to know they had running steam. Heck, we even went to PC before the operation folded but never went by the place. It kills me to this day to know my early childhood days were spent that close to running steam and I wouldn't know about it for many years after the tracks were taken up.
[img]http://img70.photobucket.com/albums/v214/willysmb44/avatar11.jpg[/img]
Tommy Gray
Conductor

Post by Tommy Gray »